Growing a Scientist™

Growing a Scientist™

For preschoolers ages 2 ½ – 5, at Explora


Parent participation is required

Spring Semester: January 19 – April 30, 2022

Fall in love with science, as you and your child explore together!

In Growing a Scientist, preschoolers ages 2½ to 5 and their parents or adult caregivers make discoveries about science by questioning, experiencing, and investigating. Early childhood educators engage children and their adults in science and engineering activities that incorporate art, literature, and fun! Each session focuses on a different theme. Activities change each semester.

Meets every other week for 1½ hours.
Parent or adult caregiver participation is required.

Class schedule

        Please select one of the following sessions (meets every other week):

  • Wednesday Mornings, 9:30–11am 
    • In-person classes will meet all CDC  guidelines for COVID-19 safety, with a limited number of children per classroom and masks for ages 2 and older.
  • Thursday Mornings, 9:30–11am
    • In-person classes will meet all CDC guidelines for COVID-19 safety, with a limited number of children per classroom and masks for ages 2 and older.
  • Friday Mornings, 9:30–11am
    • In-person classes will meet all CDC guidelines for COVID-19 safety, with a limited number of children per classroom and masks for ages 2 and older.
  • Saturday Mornings, 9:30–11am
    • In-person classes will meet all CDC guidelines for COVID-19 safety, with a limited number of children per classroom and masks for ages 2 and older.

Registration Fee

Explora members* $140 per child per semester
Non-members $160 per child per semester

*Join & Save! Explora members get discounts on semester programs, camps, and admission all year!

Register now for Spring Semester 2022

1. Online: Select a session day and time to register online
Register Online
We’ve updated our online registration! You may be asked to provide a new password when you login.

2. Call the Reservations office at 505‐600-6734 or e‐mail reservations@explora.us.

3. Mail registration form with payment to: Explora Reservations Manager, 1701 Mountain Rd. NW, Albuquerque NM 87104

Explora’s Camps & Programs

Explora educators develop activities with children’s developmental levels in mind. Your children will have the opportunity to learn from, and work with older and younger peers and make new friends.

Registration/Information

  • You can register online, by phone, or download and mail/fax the completed registration form.
  • Please have the following available when you register: emergency contact name and phone numbers; name of alternate adults who can pick up the child; child’s medications, dosages, and physician’s name; child’s insurance information, as well as any allergy or special needs information for your child.

Call: 505-600-6734. Our reservations office is open Monday-Friday, 9am–5pm. Para español, llame al 505-600-6734, de lunes a viernes, 9am–5pm.

Email: reservations@explora.us

Mail: Explora Reservations 1701 Mountain Rd. NW Albuquerque, NM 87104

Fax: 505-224-8325

Cancellation Policy

  • If a cancellation is received more than 5 business days before the camp, a refund will be issued for the amount minus a 15% administrative fee.
  • Cancellations received 5 business days or fewer before the camp will not be refunded.
  • Full fees will be refunded if Explora cancels a program

Fall 2020 Class Schedule

Spring 2022 Class Schedule

January 19 - April 30, 2022

Bubble, Fizz, and Foam

Wed., Jan. 19/ Thurs., Jan. 20/ Fri., Jan. 21/ Sat., Jan. 22

Become a curious chemist when you mix up cool concoctions, investigate foamy foods, and pour bubbling solutions!

Color Mix-up

Wed., Feb. 2/ Thurs., Feb. 3/ Fri., Feb. 4/ Sat., Feb. 5

Watch colors change before your eyes as you mix colored solutions, make secondary colors from primary ones and create artwork to take home.

Animal Hide and Seek

Wed., Feb. 16/ Thurs., Feb. 17/ Fri., Feb. 18/ Sat., Feb. 19

Get up close and personal with some interesting insects. Observe camouflage as a defense, experiment with camouflaging yourself, and decorate rabbits to blend into different environments.

Patterns on Parade

Wed., March 2/ Thurs., March 3/ Fri., March 4/ Sat., March 5

Explore patterns in nature, create a variety of symmetrical and repeating designs, and make your own patchwork quilt pattern.

Measure Me!

Wed., March 16/ Thurs., March 17/ Fri. March 18/ Sat., March 19

Discover measuring concepts such as more and less, weight and height. We’ll practice using scales, measuring cups, and droppers, and we will use these tools to create our own snack.

Simple Machines

Wed., March 30/ Thurs., March 31/ Fri., April 1/ Sat., April 2

Test your strength with levers and pulleys. Experiment with ways simple machines make work easier. Create your own simple machine to take home.

Extraordinary Eggs

Wed., April 13/ Thurs., April 14/ Fri., April 15/ Sat., April 16

Test the strength of eggs, investigate and compare rolling eggs to other shapes and create egg art.

Caterpillars to Butterflies

Wed., April 27/ Thurs., April 28/ Fri., April 29/ Sat., April 30

We’ll find out how The Very Hungry Caterpillar becomes a butterfly and we’ll use paper chromatography to turn our own caterpillars into butterflies.

Activities vary from semester to semester. For more information about this program please contact our Reservations office.

Phone: 505-600-6734

Email: reservations@explora.us

Para información en español, llame al 505-224-8323