Growing a Scientist™

Growing a Scientist™

For preschoolers ages 2 ½ – 5, at Explora


Parent participation is required

Spring Semester: January 20–May 1, 2021

Fall in love with science, as you and your child explore together!

In Growing a Scientist, preschoolers ages 2½ to 5 and their parents or adult caregivers make discoveries about science by questioning, experiencing, and investigating. Early childhood educators engage children and their adults in science and engineering activities that incorporate art, literature, and fun! Each session focuses on a different theme. Activities change each semester.

Meets every other week for 1½ hours.
Parent or adult caregiver participation is required.

Class schedule

   Please select one of the following sessions (meets every other week):

  • Wednesday Mornings,  9:30–11am (at Explora if health order allows)
    • In-person classes will meet all CDC and CYFD guidelines for COVID-19 safety, with a limited number of children per classroom.
  • Thursday Mornings,  9:30–11am (Virtual)
    • Some topics may be modified for a virtual format
  • Friday Mornings,  9:30–11am (at Explora at Explora if health order allows)
    • In-person classes will meet all CDC and CYFD guidelines for COVID-19 safety, with a limited number of children per classroom.
  • Saturday Mornings,  9:30–11am (at Explora if health order allows)
    • In-person classes will meet all CDC and CYFD guidelines for COVID-19 safety, with a limited number of children per classroom.
  • Saturday Afternoons; 1-2:30pm (Virtual)
    • Some topics may be modified for a virtual format

In-person classes will meet at Explora if health order allows. If classes cannot meet at Explora they will meet via Zoom with materials kit provided.

Registration Fee

Explora members* $140 per child per semester
Non-members $160 per child per semester

*Join & Save! Explora members get discounts on semester programs, camps, and admission all year!

Register now for Spring Semester 2021

1. Online: Select a session day and time to register online
Register Online
We’ve updated our online registration! You may be asked to provide a new password when you login.

2. Call the Reservations office at 505‐600-6734 or e‐mail reservations@explora.us.

3. Mail registration form with payment to: Explora Reservations Manager, 1701 Mountain Rd. NW, Albuquerque NM 87104

Explora’s Camps & Programs

Explora educators develop activities with children’s developmental levels in mind. Your children will have the opportunity to learn from, and work with older and younger peers and make new friends.

Registration/Information

  • You can register online, by phone, or download and mail/fax the completed registration form.
  • Please have the following available when you register: emergency contact name and phone numbers; name of alternate adults who can pick up the child; child’s medications, dosages, and physician’s name; child’s insurance information, as well as any allergy or special needs information for your child.

Call: 505-600-6734. Our reservations office is open Monday-Friday, 9am–5pm. Para español, llame al 505-224-8323, de lunes a viernes, 9am–5pm.

Email: reservations@explora.us

Mail: Explora Reservations 1701 Mountain Rd. NW Albuquerque, NM 87104

Fax: 505-224-8325

Cancellation Policy

  • If a cancellation is received more than 5 business days before the camp, a refund will be issued for the amount minus a 15% administrative fee.
  • Cancellations received 5 business days or fewer before the camp will not be refunded.
  • Full fees will be refunded if Explora cancels a program

Fall 2020 Class Schedule

Spring 2021 Class Schedule

January 20–May 1, 2021

Crazy Concoctions

Wed., Jan. 20/ Thurs., Jan. 21/ Fri., Jan. 22/ Sat., Jan. 23

Be an inquisitive scientist as you concoct new substances. Investigate their characteristics as you first observe them and then manipulate them with your hands.

Static Power

Wed., Feb. 3/ Thurs., Feb. 4/ Fri., Feb. 5/ Sat., Feb. 6

Get charged up about electricity. Make your hair stand on end with static electricity and go fishing with a balloon. Make a static box to take home.

Make Sense of Your Senses

Wed., Feb. 17/ Thurs., Feb. 18/ Fri., Feb. 19/ Sat., Feb. 20

Explore each of your five senses as you feel different textures, match pairs of scents, trick your eyes with illusions, identify mysterious sounds and more.

On a Roll

Wed., March 3/ Thurs., March 4/ Fri., March 5/ Sat., March 6

Observe and compare rolling systems using recycled materials, cups, and marbles. Test which shapes roll the best and create a roller coaster for marbles.

Wonderful Rainbows

Wed., March 17/ Thurs., March 18/ Fri., March 19/ Sat., March 20

Separate light into the color spectrum and experience the colors that make up the rainbows. Use a variety of items to find rainbows and enjoy a colorful snack.

Floaters and Sinkers

Wed., March 31/ Thurs., April 1/ Fri., April 2/ Sat., April 3

Roll up your sleeves and experiment with  fruits, vegetables, and other solids to classify them as floaters or sinkers. We’ll modify materials to make them float or sink, and design a foil boat to carry a cargo of pennies. How many pennies will your boat hold before it sinks?

Balancing Act

Wed., April 14/ Thurs., April 15/ Fri., April 16/ Sat., April 17

Can you balance on one foot? Test out your sense of balance as you explore counter balance and center of gravity. Make a balanced art project to take home.

Fruit or Veggie?

Wed., April 28/ Thurs., April 29/ Fri., April 30/ Sat., May 1

We’ll dissect different fruits and vegetables to find out what’s inside. Which one do you find the most interesting? We’ll make colorful fruit and vegetable prints to take home and more!

Activities vary from semester to semester. For more information about this program please contact our Reservations office.

Phone: 505-600-6734

Email: reservations@explora.us

Para información en español, llame al 505-224-8323