Growing a Scientist for ages 2 ½ – 5 yrs

Spring Semester 2017
January 18 – May 13

Fall in love with science, as you and your child explore together!

In Growing a Scientist,  preschoolers ages 2½ to 5 and their adults make discoveries about science by questioning, experiencing, and investigating. Experienced educators engage children and their adults in science activities that incorporate art, literature, and fun! Following each program, enjoy a snack together.

Explora members $140 per child per semester
Non-members $160 per child per semester

EACH SESSION MEETS EVERY OTHER WEEK.


Three ways to register

  1. Online: Select a session day and time to register online

2. Mail: Download, print, and mail registration form:

3. Call Reservations at 505-224-8341.

Class Schedule:

BUBBLE, FIZZ, AND FOAM

Wed., Jan. 18/ Thurs., Jan. 19/ Fri., Jan. 20/ Sat., Jan. 21
Become a curious chemist when you mix up cool concoctions, investigate foamy foods, and pour bubbling solutions!

WHAT’S THAT SOUND?

Wed., Feb. 1/ Thurs., Feb. 2/ Fri., Feb. 3/ Sat., Feb. 4
We’ll observe how sound waves travel through water or air and, produce vibrations. Experience cup phones and build your own kazoo and quacker.

SIMPLE MACHINES

Wed., Feb. 15/ Thurs., Feb. 16/ Fri., Feb. 17/ Sat., Feb. 18
Test your strength with levers and pulleys. Experiment with simple machines to explore ways that they make our work easier.

A SHOVELFUL OF DIRT

Wed., March 1/ Thurs., March 2/ Fri., March 3/ Sat., March 4
Get your hands dirty as you make discoveries about dirt and soil. Use magnifying loupes as you look for living material in the dirt. Use clay to sculpt your own creation out of clay.

MEASURE ME

Wed., March 15/ Thurs., March 16/ Fri., March 17/ Sat., March 18
Discover measuring concepts such as more and less, weight and height. We’ll practice using scales, measuring cups, and droppers, and we will use these tools to create our own snack.

ANIMALS HIDE AND SEEK

Wed., March 29/ Thurs., March 30/ Fri., March 31/ Sat., April 1
Get up close and personal with some interesting insects. Observe camouflage as a defense, experiment with camouflaging yourself, and decorate rabbits to blend into different environments.

SWITCH ON, SWITCH OFF

Wed., April 12/ Thurs., April 13/ Fri., April 14/ Sat., April 15
Turn things on and off as you explore open and closed circuits. Investigate a variety of switches and much more.

HOW DOES YOUR GARDEN GROW?

Wed., April 26/ Thurs., April 27/ Fri., April 28/ Sat., April 29
Get your hands dirty as you examine, compare, and contrast different seeds, dissect lima beans and fruit, and plant seeds and flowers to take home.

CATERPILLAR TO BUTTERFLY

Wed., May 10/ Thurs., May 11/ Fri., May 12/ Sat., May 13
We’ll find out how The Very Hungry Caterpillar becomes a butterfly and we’ll use paper chromatography to turn our own caterpillars into butterflies.

Class topics change each semester.

Registration for Fall 2017 opens June 1.

Reservations office: 505-224-8341
Email: reservations@explora.us
Para información en español, llame al 505-224-8323

Class Schedule:

SLIPPERY SLIME

Wed., Aug. 23/ Thurs., Aug. 24/ Fri.,Aug. 25/ Sat., Aug. 26
Get your hands dirty as you explore a variety of slimy substances and make your own chemical concoctions.

ME AND MY SHADOW

Wed., Sept. 6/ Thurs., Sept. 7/ Fri., Sept. 8/ Sat., Sept. 9
Discover different ways to make shadows as we investigate light and shadow shapes, experiment with colored shadows, and make shadow puppets.

ALL ABOUT AIR

Wed., Sept. 20/ Thurs., Sept. 21/ Fri., Sept. 22/ Sat., Sept. 23
Catch some air and see how it takes up space. Experiment with the power of compressed air and investigate how moving air interacts with objects.

ACIDS & BASES

Wed., Oct. 4/ Thurs., Oct. 5/ Fri., Oct. 6/ Sat., Oct. 7
Explore natural acid/base indicators such as red cabbage, black tea, grape juice and turmeric. We’ll watch their colors change as we mix these indicators with acids and bases. We’ll also use them to draw color changing pictures.

ROUND AND ROUND

Wed., Oct. 18/ Thurs., Oct. 19/ Fri., Oct. 20/ Sat., Oct. 21
Test different shapes to see which ones make the best wheels and investigate different surfaces for roadways as you explore wheels moving “round and round”. Build your own wheeled vehicle to take home.

EXTRAORDINARY EGGS

Wed., Nov. 1/ Thurs., Nov. 2/ Fri., Nov. 3/ Sat., Nov. 4
Test the strength of eggs, investigate and compare rolling eggs to other shapes and create egg art.

BALANCING ACT

Wed., Nov. 15/ Thurs., Nov. 16/ Fri., Nov. 17/ Sat., Nov. 18
Can you balance on one foot? Test out your sense of balance as you explore counter balance and center of gravity. Make a balanced art project to take home.

FLOATERS AND SINKERS

Wed., Nov. 29/ Thurs., Nov. 30/ Fri., Dec. 1/ Sat., Dec. 2
Classify fruits and vegetables as floaters or sinkers. We’ll modify materials to make them float or sink, and design a foil boat to carry a cargo of pennies. How many pennies will your boat hold before it sinks?

GEARS, RAMPS, AND BLOCKS

Wed., Dec. 13/ Thurs., Dec. 14/ Fri., Dec. 15/ Sat., Dec. 16
Experiment with gears, ramps of different heights, and blocks of different materials. Can you use your engineering skills to build a tall tower, move objects with gears, or roll an object down a ramp?

Class topics change each semester.

Reservations office: 505-224-8341
Email: reservations@explora.us
Para información en español, llame al 505-224-8323

growing a scientist

It’s time for Explora’s 2017 Spring semester programs

Explora educators develop activities with children’s developmental levels in mind. Your children will have the opportunity to learn from, and work with older and younger peers and make new friends.

Registration/Information

  • You can register online, by phone, or download and mail/fax the completed registration form.
  • Please have the following available when you register: emergency contact name and phone numbers; name of alternate adults who can pick up the child; child’s medications, dosages, and physician’s name; child’s insurance information, as well as any allergy or special needs information for your child.


Call:

505-224-8341. Our reservations office is open Monday-Friday, 9 am – 5 pm.

Para español, llame al 505-224-8323, de lunes a viernes, 9 am – 5 pm.

Email:
reservations@explora.us

Mail:
Explora Reservations
1701 Mountain Rd. NW
Albuquerque, NM 87104

Fax:
505-224-8325

Cancelation policy

  • If a cancelation is received at least 5 business days before the first class, a refund will be issued for the amount minus a 15% administration fee.
  • Cancelations received fewer than 5 business days before the first class will not be refunded.
  • Full fees will be refunded if Explora cancels a program.

Explora is a 501(c)(3) non-profit, and all purchases at our store are always tax-free.

Proceeds from your purchases at Ideas, the store at Explora, help fund our programs and exhibits.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Start typing and press Enter to search