Give Now

Growing a Scientist™ (ages 2 ½ - 5 yrs)


 

Spring Semester 2014growing-scientist1
January 15 to May 10

Growing a Scientist™ offers transactive experiences for children ages 2½ through 5 together with their adult companions. Preschoolers and adults pair to learn about science by questioning, experiencing and investigating.



Wednesdays, 9:30-11:00
Thursdays, 9:30-11:00
Thursdays, 1:00-2:30
Fridays, 9:30-11:00
     

Registration/Information
Download registration form
Call: (505) 224-8341
Mon.-Fri. 9 am - 5 pm
Email reservations@explora.us
Para español llame al 
(505) 224-8323
lunes-viernes 9 am a 5 pm

 

Crazy Concoctions
Wed., Jan. 15/ Thurs., Jan. 16/ Fri., Jan. 17/ Sat., Jan. 18
Be an inquisitive scientist as you concoct new substances. Investigate their characteristics as you first observe them and then manipulate them with your hands.

 

In a Spin
Wed., Jan. 29/ Thurs., Jan. 30/ Fri., Jan. 21/ Sat., Feb. 1
Experiment with spinning and twirling, looping and whirling. Make your own spinners, such as tops and twirly birds, to take home.

 

Animal Hide & Seek
Wed., Feb. 12/ Thurs., Feb. 13/ Fri., Feb. 14/ Sat., Feb. 15


Get up close and personal with some interesting insects. Observe camouflage as a defense, experiment with camouflaging yourself, and decorate rabbits to blend into different environments. 

 

Mysterious Matter
Wed., Feb. 26/ Thurs., Feb. 27/ Fri., Feb. 28/ Sat., March. 1
Be an inquisitive scientist as you concoct new substances. Investigate their characteristics as you first observe them and then manipulate them with your hands.

 

Static Power
Wed., March 12/ Thurs., March 13/ Fri., March 14/ Sat., March 15
Get charged up about electricity. Use static electricity to make your hair stand on end and go fishing with a balloon.

 

Spring, Stretch and Bounce
Wed., March 26/ Thurs., March 27/ Fri., March 28/ Sat., March 29
Investigate stretchy and springy materials and experiment with Slinkys®. Walk with springs on your feet and make your own stretchy, bouncy toy to take home.

 

A Shovelful of Dirt
Wed., April 9/ Thurs., April 10/ Fri., April 11/ Sat., April 12
Get your hands dirty as you make discoveries about dirt and soil. Use magnifying loupes as you look for living material in the dirt and sculpt your own creation out of clay.

 

Gears, Ramps and Blocks
Wed., April 23/ Thurs., April 24/ Fri., April 25/ Sat., April 26
Experiment with gears, ramps of different heights, and blocks of different materials. Can you use your engineering skills to build a tall tower, move objects with gears, or roll an object down a ramp? 

 

Caterpillar to Butterfly
Wed., May 7/ Thurs., May 8/ Fri., May 9/ Sat., May 10
We’ll find out how The Very Hungry Caterpillar becomes a butterfly and we’ll use paper chromatography to turn our own caterpillars into butterflies.

 

Visitor Information

LOCATION:
1701 Mountain Road NW
Albuquerque, NM 87104

(505) 224-8300
explora@explora.us
Contact Us 

Follow Us

facebook     flickr     twitter

 

HOURS:
Mon-Sat: 10 am - 6 pm
Sun: 12 pm - 6 pm

Closed on Jan. 1, Jul. 4, the week after Labor Day, Thanksgiving, and Dec. 25.

newsletter-en
 

MEMBERSHIP

ADMISSION:
Children (under 1): Free
Children (1-11): $4.00
Adults (12-64): $8.00
Seniors (65+): $5.00

Groups: Reservations Required.
Please contact us if you require special assistance.


Print Map