Give Now

Growing a Scientist™ - Ages 2½ - 5 yrs

growing-scientist1

Fall Semester 2016
August 24 to December 17

 

Fall in love with science, with your child!

In Growing a Scientist,  preschoolers ages 2½ to 5 and their adults make discoveries about science by questioning, experiencing, and investigating. Experienced educators engage children and their adults in science activities that incorporate art, literature, and fun!

Each session meets every other week. Following the program, enjoy a snack together.

Explora Members $140
Non-members $160

 

Click below to choose your session and register online:

button wed 930 button thurs930 button fri930
 button sat930   button sat100 

or, download a mail-in registration form:

button download reg form

You can also call 505-224-8341 to register.

Class Schedule:

beautiful bubbles

Wed., Aug. 24/ Thurs., Aug. 25/ Fri., Aug.2/ Sat., Aug. 27
Test bubble wands of different materials and shapes, and experiment with blowing bubbles. Make your own bubble blower and make colorful bubble snakes.

 

forceful magnets

Wed., Sept. 7/ Thurs., Sept. 8/ Fri., Sept. 9 / Sat., Sept. 10
Investigate magnets and surprising items they attract and repel. Try magnetic painting and adding "fur" to animal pictures with magnets. Decorate and take home your own magnetic maze.

 

Is it an insect?

Wed., Sept. 21/ Thurs., Sept. 22/ Fri., Sept 23 / Sat., Sept. 24
Watch insects in action, discover how many legs insects have, and find out what they eat. Arrange your own insect house for a live insect.

 

circles everywhere

Wed., Oct. 5/ Thurs., Oct. 6/ Fri., Oct. 7/ Sat., Oct. 8
Experiment with the strength of cones, create art with loops and circles, and be an architect with cylinders and domes.

 

static power

Wed., Oct. 19/ Thurs., Oct. 20/ Fri., Oct. 21/ Sat., Oct. 22
Experiment with the strength of cones, create art with loops and circles, and be an architect with cylinders and domes.

 

in a spin!

Wed., Nov. 2/ Thurs., Nov. 3/ Fri., Nov. 4/ Sat., Nov. 5 
Experiment with spinning and twirling, looping and whirling. Make your own spinning tops and twirly birds to take home.

 

our amazing bodies

Wed., Nov. 16/ Thurs., Nov. 17/ Fri., Nov. 18/ Sat., Nov. 19
Celebrate our amazing bodies from our fingerprints to our heart and bones. Conduct experiments and create a body mural to represent your insides.

 

mysterious matter

Wed., Nov. 30/ Thurs., Dec. 1/ Fri., Dec. 2/ Sat., Dec. 3
Investigate solids and liquids, comparing and contrasting different states of matter. Experiment with mystery mixtures and make bottles of swirling liquids.

 

spring, stretch and bounce

Wed., Dec. 14/ Thurs., Dec. 15/ Fri., Dec. 16/ Sat., Dec. 17
Walk with springs on your feet and Investigate stretchy and springy materials. Make your own stretchy bouncy toy to take home.

  

Class topics change each semester.

Reservations office: 505-22-8341
Email: reservations@explora.us
Para información en español, llame al 505-224-8323.

Here are all our semester programs:

Growing a Scientist™ - Ages 2½ - 5yrs
Science to Grow on™ - Grades K-3
Chain Reaction Scientists - Grades 3-5
Robo Task Force - Grades 3-7
Home School Explorations Series - Grades K-8

*

It’s time for Explora’s 2016 Spring semester programs

Explora educators develop camp activities with children's developmental levels in mind. Your children will have the opportunity to learn from, and work with older and younger peers and make new friends.

Registration/Information

  • You can register online, by phone, or download and mail/fax the completed registration form.

  • Please have the following available when you register: emergency contact name and phone numbers; name of alternate adults who can pick up the child; child's medications, dosages, and physician's name; child's insurance information, as well as any allergy or special needs information for your child.


Call:

505-224-8341. Our reservations office is open Monday-Friday, 9 am - 5 pm.

Para español, llame al 505-224-8323, de lunes a viernes, 9 am - 5 pm.

Email:
reservations@explora.us

Mail:
Explora Reservations
1701 Mountain Rd. NW
Albuquerque, NM 87104

Fax:
505-224-8325

Cancelation policy

  • If a cancelation is received at least 5 business days before the first class, a refund will be issued for the amount minus a 15% administration fee.

  • Cancelations received fewer than 5 business days before the first class will not be refunded.

  • Full fees will be refunded if Explora cancels a program.

FB f Logo blue 29      

TwitterLogo 55acee

white small circle