Give Now

Growing a Scientist™ (ages 2 ½ - 5 yrs)

growing-scientist1

Fall Semester 2014:
August 13 to December 6
Wednesday, Thursday,
Friday and Saturday classes available

Growing a Scientist offers interactive experiences for children ages 2½ through 5 together with their adult companions. Preschoolers and adults pair to learn about science by questioning, experiencing and investigating.

Each session of Growing a Scientist meets every other week and consists of over an hour of activities focusing on scientific discovery and incorporating art and literature. Following the program, there is time to enjoy a snack and experience Explora’s exhibit activities together. 

Registration fees:
member rate - $140.00, non-member rate - $160.00

form

Click below to choose your session and register online:

wed-gas  
Thurs-am-gas thur-pm-gas
Fri-am-gas
Sat-am-gas Sat-pm-gas

Class Schedule: 

Beautiful Bubbles
Wed., Aug. 13/ Thurs., Aug. 14/ Fri., Aug.15/ Sat., Aug. 16
Use a variety of materials to experiment with bubble-blowing. Test bubble wands of different shapes, along with a variety of different bubble solutions. Observe the colors in a bubble and make your own bubble-making apparatus to take home.

 

Garden Grow
Wed., Aug. 27/ Thurs., Aug. 28/ Fri., Aug. 29 / Sat., Aug. 30
Get your hands dirty as you examine, compare, and contrast different seeds, dissect lima beans and fruit, and plant seeds and flowers to take home.

 

Extraordinary Eggs
Wed., Sept. 10/ Thurs., Sept. 11/ Fri., Sept 12 / Sat., Sept. 13
Test the strength of eggs, investigate and compare rolling eggs to other shapes, and create egg art.

 

Is it an Insect?
Wed., Sept. 24/ Thurs., Sept. 25/ Fri., Sept. 26/ Sat., Sept. 27
We’ll watch insects in action, discover how many legs insects have, and find out what they eat. Then, we’ll design our own insects to take home.

 

Measure Me!
Wed., Oct. 8/ Thurs., Oct. 9/ Fri., Oct. 10/ Sat., Oct. 11
Discover measuring concepts such as more and less, weight and height. We’ll practice using scales, measuring cups, and droppers, and we will use these tools to create our own snack.

 

Simple Machines
Wed., Oct. 22/ Thurs., Oct. 23/ Fri., Oct. 24/ Sat., Oct. 25
Test your strength with levers and pulleys. Experiment with ways simple machines make work easier.

 

What’s that Sound?
Wed., Nov. 5/ Thurs., Nov. 6/ Fri., Nov. 7/ Sat., Nov. 8
We’ll observe how sound waves travel through water or air, producing vibrations. Experience cup phones and build your own kazoo and quacker.

 

Acids and Bases
Wed., Nov. 19/ Thurs., Nov. 20/ Fri., Nov. 21/ Sat., Nov. 22
Explore natural acid/base indicators such as red cabbage,black tea, grape juice, and turmeric. We’ll watch their colors change as we mix these indicators with acids and bases.We’ll also use them to draw color-changing pictures.

 

Switch On, Switch Off
Wed., Dec. 3/ Thurs., Dec. 4/ Fri., Dec. 5/ Sat., Dec. 6
Turn things on and off as you explore open and closed circuits. Investigate a variety of switches and much more.

*

Visitor Information

LOCATION:
1701 Mountain Road NW
Albuquerque, NM 87104

(505) 224-8300
explora@explora.us
Contact Us 

Follow Us

facebook     flickr     twitter

 

HOURS:
Mon-Sat: 10 am - 6 pm
Sun: 12 pm - 6 pm

Closed on Jan. 1, Jul. 4, the week after Labor Day, Thanksgiving, and Dec. 25.

newsletter-en
 

MEMBERSHIP

ADMISSION:
Explora Members: Free
Children (under age 1): Free
Children (ages 1-11): $4
Adults (ages 12-64): $8
Seniors (age 65+, with ID): $5
Students or Military (with ID): $5

Groups: Reservations Required.
Please contact us if you require special assistance.


Print Map
Exhibit Guide

It’s time for Explora’s 2014 fall semester programs

Registration/Information
You can register online or by phone, or download and mail/fax the completed registration form.

All registrations must be accompanied by full payment. We accept cash, checks, VISA, MasterCard, Discover and American Express. Please make all checks payable to Explora.

Call:
505-224-8341. Our reservations office is open Monday-Friday, 9 am - 5 pm.

Para español, llame al 505-224-8323, de lunes a viernes, 9 am - 5 pm.

Email:
reservations@explora.us

Mail:
Reservations at Explora
1701 Mountain Rd. NW
Albuquerque, NM 87104

Fax:
505-224-8325

Cancelation policy

If a cancelation is received at least 5 business days before the first class, a refund will be issued for the amount minus a 15% administration fee. Cancelations received fewer than 5 business days before the first class will not be refunded. Full fees will be refunded if Explora cancels a program.