Give Now

Growing a Scientist™ (ages 2 ½ - 5 yrs)

Spring Semester 2016growing-scientist1
January 13 to May 7

Growing a Scientist offers interactive experiences in which preschoolers and adults pair to learn about science by questioning, experiencing and investigating.
Each session meets every other week for over an hour of activities focusing on scientific discovery and incorporating art and literature. Following the program, there is time to enjoy a snack.
Class fees:
Explora Members-$140

Click below to choose your session and register online:


Button-GAS-Weds-930am Button-GAS-Thurs-930am Button-GAS-Fri-930am Button-GAS-Sat-930am


or, download a mail-in registration form:

You can also call 505-224-8341 to register.

Class Schedule:

crazy concoctions
Wed., Jan. 13/ Thurs., Jan. 14/ Fri., Jan. 15/ Sat., Jan. 16
Be an inquisitive scientist as you concoct new substances. Investigate their characteristics as you first observe them, and then manipulate them with your hands.


on a roll!
Wed., Jan. 27/ Thurs., Jan. 28/ Fri., Jan. 29/ Sat., Jan. 30
Observe and compare rolling systems using recycled materials, cups, and marbles. Test which shapes roll the best, and create a roller coaster for marbles.


floaters and sinkers
Wed., Feb. 10/ Thurs., Feb. 11/ Fri., Feb. 12/ Sat., Feb. 13
Modify materials to make them float or sink, classify fruits and vegetables as floaters of sinkers, and design a foil boat to carry a cargo of pennies. How many will your boat hold?


patterns on parade
Wed., Feb. 24/ Thurs., Feb. 25/ Fri., Feb. 26/ Sat., Feb. 27
Explore patterns in nature, create a variety of symmetrical and repeating designs, and make your own patchwork quilt pattern.


rocks rock!
Wed., March 9/ Thurs., March 10/ Fri., March 11/ Sat., March 12
Examine a variety of rocks and crystals, conduct experiments with rolling rocks and rocks that float or sink, and make rock prints.


make sense of your senses
Wed., March 23/ Thurs., March 24/ Fri., March 25/ Sat., March 26
Challenge your five senses as your feel different textures, explore interesting scents, listen and indentify mysterious sounds, "trick" your eyes, and more.


under construction
Wed., April 6/ Thurs., April 7/ Fri., April 8/ Sat., April 9
What did the "three little pigs" learn about structure? Find out as you become an architect and builder, testing a variety of shapes and materials for strength and stability.


taking flight
Wed., April 20/ Thurs., April 21/ Fri., April 22/ Sat., April 23
Investigate how air interacts with materials to them float and fly. Experiment with wind tunnels, make and test a simple parachute, and construct and fly your own kite.


fruit or veggie?
Wed., May 4/ Thurs., May 5/ Fri., May 6/ Sat., May 7
We'll dissect different fruits and vegetables to find out what's inside, make colorful fruit and vegetable prints to take home, assemble our own snacks, and more!


Class topics change each semester.

Reservations office: 505-22-8341
Para información en español, llame al 505-224-8323

It’s time for Explora’s 2016 Spring semester programs

Explora educators develop camp activities with children's developmental levels in mind. Your children will have the opportunity to learn from, and work with older and younger peers and make new friends.


  • You can register online, by phone, or download and mail/fax the completed registration form.

  • Please have the following available when you register: emergency contact name and phone numbers; name of alternate adults who can pick up the child; child's medications, dosages, and physician's name; child's insurance information, as well as any allergy or special needs information for your child.


505-224-8341. Our reservations office is open Monday-Friday, 9 am - 5 pm.

Para español, llame al 505-224-8323, de lunes a viernes, 9 am - 5 pm.


Explora Reservations
1701 Mountain Rd. NW
Albuquerque, NM 87104


Cancelation policy

  • If a cancelation is received at least 5 business days before the first class, a refund will be issued for the amount minus a 15% administration fee.

  • Cancelations received fewer than 5 business days before the first class will not be refunded.

  • Full fees will be refunded if Explora cancels a program.