Board of Directors and Board Meeting Schedule

Board Meeting Schedule 2019

In the Explora Community Room or MP3 from 6-7:30pm

  • Thursday, March 21, 2019
  • Thursday, May 23, 2019
  • Thursday, October 3, 2019
  • Thursday, November 21, 2019

Meetings are open to the public unless portions are closed by vote of the Board.

Explora Board of Directors 2019

Directors, Officers and Committee Chairs

Alexis Kerschner Tappan, President and Executive Committee Chair
President, AKT Communications

Kamal Ali, Treasurer and Finance & Investment Committee Chair
CEO New Mexico Operations, BBVA Compass Bank

Mary Jo Daniel, Director, Vice President
Director, Faculty Research Development and NM EPSCoR Co-PI

Benjamin Gardner, Secretary
Partner, Dekker|Perich|Sabatini

Tim Schroeder, Director and Nominating & Board Development Committee Chair
Project Director of STEM Gateway, UNM

Deb Thrall, Director and Audit & Conflict of Interest Committee Chair
Executive Director at Albert I. Pierce Foundation

Dave Seely, Director and Capital Campaign Advisory Taskforce Chair
Former President and CEO, Kirtland Federal Credit Union

Steve Rottler, Past-President Director and Fundraising Committee Chair
Former Deputy Laboratories Director and Executive Vice President, National Security Programs Sandia National Labs

Dina Afek, Director and Executive Committee Member-at-Large
Attorney, New Mexico Legal Aid and Sawmill Area Neighborhood Association

Matt Fetrow, Director and Executive Committee Member-at-Large
Director, Tech Engagement Program, Air Force Research Laboratory

Beth Corbin Hsi, Director and Executive Committee Member-at-Large
Clinical Study Coordinator, Albuquerque Clinical Trials

Adrián Pedroza, Director and Executive Committee Member-at-Large
Social Enterprise Director, Partnership for Community Action

Dale Alverson, Director
Professor Emeritus and Regents’ Professor, UNM

Kara Bobroff, Director
Founding Principal, Native American Community Academy

Cynthia Borrego, Director
City Councilor, Albuquerque

Hilma Cynoweth, Director
Director of Business Development, Garcia Automotive Group

Len Duda, Director
Scientist (retired), Sandia National Labs; Educator, Explora

Nick Estes, Director Emeritus
Retired UNM Legal Counsel

Jane Flax, Director & Director Emerita
Community Volunteer

John Garrity, Director
Director of Development, Harmonix Technologies

Jim Gill, Director and Director Emeritus
CFO, Vista del Sol Foods

Pauline Gubbels, Director Emerita
Former State Representative

Rachel Gupton, Director
Scientist, Sandia National Labs

David Hsi, Director Emeritus
Professor and Adjunct Professor Emeritus, NMSU & UNM

Ryan Kennedy, Director
Attorney, Los Alamos National Security, LLC

Dan Kingston, Director
Human Resources Manager, PNM

Kathleen Larese, Director
Director of Customer Operations, PNM; Administrator of PNM Resources Foundation

Deborah Peacock, Director Emerita
Partner, Peacock Myers

Klarissa Peña, Director
City Councilor, Albuquerque

Shelle Sanchez, Director
Director of Cultural Services, City of Albuquerque

Explora is a 501(c)(3) non-profit, and all purchases at our store are always tax-free. Proceeds from your purchases at Ideas, the store at Explora, help fund our programs and exhibits.

Color Explora Logo
Share this page:
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search